Losing Weight, Feeling Grateful: Best Free iTunes App ever

6 02 2009

Its easy, all the slim people said. Just: get a diet buddy, set your goals, keep track of everything you eat, increase your daily exercise, reduce your portion size and you’ll balance your weight-to-height budget. For a guy like me, easily distracted, disorganized maybe just a touch lazy, this advice has not been easy to follow. Heck, it looks like a lot of work even to get started with all of that.

Funny story: I’m following each of those suggestions in an enjoyable and evidently sustainable way with a free iPhone app called “Lose It” by Fit Now, Inc.

There are several advantages to using this program:

  • It is really, really easy to use
  • First my Son and now my lovely Wife have started using it and we are enjoying sharing notes and have become diet buddies
  • It helps you set goals which are easy to modify and tells you when you should attain those goals
  • It keeps a library of the foods and even of the entire meals you’ve entered so you can easily repeat things you’ve looked up before. (I eat pretty much the same breakfast every morning, so I just click on that meal and I’ve added it to the log for the day.)
  • It is easy to add custom foods or meals. (My Son Matt has “Dinner with Family” (an average of 600 cals) and things like “terrible school lunch salad” programed in.
  • It figures the exercise calories you enter into your daily budget so you can see right away how much more you can eat and still stay on track.
  • One tap on the iPhone and one on the day’s log, and I can see where I am. “Business dinner at Maggiano’s tonight, need to hit the gym for an extra 15 minutes this morning.”

I’ve never believed in listening to folks who are in the process of losing weight for advice on the subject. It seems to me that the people who have become and/or remained slim are the ones to emulate. That is where all the advice above came from and that’s what this little application is helping me and my family to accomplish.

Lose It! screenshot from Mashable article

Lose It! screenshot from Mashable article

There is a list of weight loss related apps reviews at Mashable if you’re interested in reading about the others, just click on the screenshot above.

Good luck and feel free to check in with me any time after March 14th to see if I’ve reached my goal and maintained the weight loss.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

